Home > Sports > Crimson Tide vs. Hokies – Armchair Sports Analysis

Crimson Tide vs. Hokies – Armchair Sports Analysis

September 8, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Marathon says I should stop making sports predictions. As far as official predictions on this blog, I am 0 for 2. The Cardinals lost the Super Bowl and the Hokies lost to Alabama on Saturday. As my pathetically few amount of “Sports” posts demonstrates, I know next to nothing about most sports or sport strategy. But I did watch the game, so I’m going to put on my John Madden hat.

"Well, you see, the problem is Virginia Tech didn't score as many points as Alabama."

As everyone points out, Tech’s offense made a pretty disapointing  showing. This wasn’t unexpected, but I think most people figured QB Tyrod Taylor would make more gains with his running game. To our credit, Alabama’s compromised of big, hulking dudes. Whether it was them pressuring Tyrod or their O-Line making short work of our defensive plays.

We were actually making a decent showing there in the first half. Which makes the fourth quarter that much more disappointing.

Fourth quarter was also when we decided to shut up ESPN’s announcers.

There’s two ways to perceive announcers’ disdain for VT. One is the outright conspiracy that they hate our black quarterback. The other is the acknowledgment that there is a latent racism in sports coverage that determines which teams get favorable coverage from the talking heads. It’s not explicit and it’s not necessarily active. But no one can deny that when VT makes a good play it’s “surprising” and when Alabama makes a good play, it’s expected.

Whoa! That black guy is PLAYING FOOTBALL!!!

Whoa! That black guy is PLAYING FOOTBALL!!!

And I’m not making any apologies for Tyrod’s game, but I will see that I didn’t see Greg McElroy make many amazing plays. But he was the one that they were all fawning over.

Now, I understand that I’m biased. And I concede that Alabama is a better team overall. But there was no doubt that it was McElroy who the announcers were stoking up to be Hesiman-level of hype. The fact is that, in college football, ESPN benefits by holding up nice, white, All-American types as the college football messiahs. Matt Ryan. Tim Tebow. Greg McElroy.

I might just be talking out of my ass here, but I can’t remember the last time a black guy was talked about extensively by college football commentators. I invite real sports fans to correct me if I’m wrong or give me good reasons why this is the case.

Anyway, soapbox aside, Alabama DID outplay us and, even without the couple of Alabama penalties that the refs ignored. It’s sad for us, because we, like a good football school, deluded ourselves into thinking we had a shot for the national championship, but this game shows that, while we will probably dominate the ACC, we have no chance against schools of a certain caliber. And, for kicks, I’ll join my actively sports-vocal Hokie peers and blame Brayn Stinespring for this inability to compete a certain level.

Well, I spent longer talking about that than I meant to. Tomorrow I may address the fallout from Obama’s education speech today and the bad turn the healthcare debate is taking. Right now, it’s late and I’m losing at Settlers.

Peace out.

  1. Tim
    September 8, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    Vince Young was as much a poster boy for college football as Matt Leinart heading into that National Championship Game (and even more afterwards). Mike Vick was a darling in ’99-’00. The college football world is right now talking about the national debut that Jacory Harris had last night.

    I’d sooner buy announcers hating the school than hating a black quarterback. ESPN always (over the past few years) hypes the SEC teams and we faltered when we had a chance to represent the ACC.

    As far as the game goes, Alabama’s size was a big part of the victory (especially when they kept pounding the rock town our throats) But, I noticed that on some of their long passes downfield they were isolating big receivers on Kam Chancellor (who shouldn’t be the primary cover man on such a play). This makes me think (with all due respect to Bud) that we were ever so slightly out-coached. And as happened last year against ECU, youth and inexperience hurt us (think two fumbles on returns). Tyrod seemed to be overly cautious in some situations which is I think both a product of his maturation process in the position and also of going up against such a tough defense.

    All this being said, I think that if somewhere down the line we were to run into Alabama again, after a season’s worth of experience, I bet we’d have a damned good chance. Everyone needs to stop being so fatalist, losing was always a possibility but we’ve still got a damned good team that deserves another shot to prove itself.

  2. Logan
    September 9, 2009 at 10:28 am

    Tim’s right about Vince Young and Michael Vick but there is a twist in both scenarios. In the Case of Vince Young, he played Football for Texas he might as well vote Republican. Vince Young (at the time no less, not today) was seen as this articulate class act who was of the Donovan Mcnabb mold. Vince Young and Tyrod Taylor are two very different personalities and now that Tyrod who is more of the Michael Vick mold both in culture and skill level is treated kind of like the post dog-fighting Michael Vick. VT has this undeserved representation of thugs from the Marcus Vick incident, to rough mouthy players like Brandon Flowers, Jimmy Williams and D’angelo Hall. So there is a major contrast between The Young and Tyrod persona that the media creates.
    In the case of 99-00 Michael Vick he was definitely the darling of college football but not for being a quarter back. Vick was criticized brutally for all 3 years for not being a good enough passer and that he was just a running back who fielded snaps. I think Phil is right that there is racism at the quarterback position. If you don’t fit the mold of the classic quarterback and you lose the media jumps all over you. Vince Young was like 24-1 as a starter he lost once to Ohio ST at at the Horseshoe. And although he ran he wasn’t an undersized punt returner playing quarterback he was a big athletic passer. A great example would be Donovan Mcnabb. He’s played in 4 NFC title games and has won more games than all of the white Heisman winning quarterbacks that were drafted after him combined. McNabb has been attacked by Rush Limbaugh. He’s been given more shit for being an unconventional quarterback who consistently wins than any other quarterback in the league. Carson Palmer gets treated better than Donovan and I don’t think he’s ever won a playoff game.
    Oh yeah not mention, Vick Lost the Heisman to 27 year old White Military service man Chris Weinke who played backup for the Carolina Panthers for 3 years before he retired.
    Look I’m not saying that Tyrod gets treated poorly solely because he is a black quarterback but to think it is not a factor would be naive.

  3. Logan
    September 9, 2009 at 10:30 am

    I have a correction in the beginning I said Young was of the McNabb mold I meant to say Daunte Culpepper sorry my mistake.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment