Home > Honest Hour > The Last Two Weeks of Summer. Finale.

The Last Two Weeks of Summer. Finale.

September 9, 2015 Leave a comment Go to comments

IMAG0824

The man who loaded Barbara Ann onto a tow truck was about my age, but had already been a bull rider, a soldier, a father, a husband, and the owner of his own company. He was also driving Professor B and I back to Northern Virginia on nearly a day without sleep. He rarely gets to see his kid or spend time with his wife.
Some day I hope to be able to tell the whole story about Tyler and the trip up from Virginia Tech just in time to see my team lose. It’ll be altered by memory and context, but it’s a good one.

But I don’t get paid to write. I don’t get paid to do the things I’d like to do.

This fall isn’t going to be as easy I’d like. But I’d like to focus on changing my situation for the better. I’m learning pain and loss will happen whether you play it safe or whether you risk things. And I’m not going to let my fear of losing more keep me from trying.

See you soon.

Categories: Honest Hour
  1. September 10, 2015 at 6:44 pm

    No risk, no reward. Go for it, Phil. You are stronger than you think.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment